One of those days…

dayblog9Have you ever had “just one of those days….”?  I had one of those days last Friday.  One thing piled right on top of the other.  As the day wore one, I started having the heavy feeling of, “Is this day ever going to end?”  As a matter of fact, my day ended with a flat tire on my way home from a meeting, which I attend every Friday evening.  Did I mention it was late, I was in the country and not another car was in sight?  Yes, I thought, “Perfect ending to a perfect day!”  However thankfully, I was able to make it to the gas station.  Sitting in my truck, I asked God, “What am I going to do now?”  I cannot change a flat tiredayblog10 and I didn’t even know where the spare tire was!  As I sat there though, I watched a few men go in the store.  With some hesitation, I went and asked for help.  As a side note, asking for help is difficult for me.  I am one of those people who thinks she can do it all on her own.  Nevertheless, I summoned the courage and I asked anyone and everyone, in general, if they would be willing to help me change a flat tire.  That’s when I was humbled, as not one, but five men came to help me, along with one of their wives and children.  I was dayblog4overwhelmed with gratitude for their generosity in helping me.  I said as much to the woman that I was standing with.  She smiled and said, “This is small town, we help each other.”  I am pretty sure their generous spirits hit me so profoundly because of the day I’d had.  It was at this time I was reminded… I am never alone.  He willdayblog2 always be there in my time of need.  I saw God at work Friday night in each one of the people I was surrounded by.  How ironic is it then, that at the meeting I attended earlier that night, the message was on gratitude.  After the flat tire I could not help being in awe at seeing how “one of those days…” came to an end with overwhelming gratitude!
Ecclesiastes 3:9-10   Two are better than one because they have a good return for their labor.  For if either of them falls, the one will lift up his companion.  But woe to the one who falls when there is not another to lift him up.
dayblog1If you are reading this blog, I want to remind you to surround yourself with those that will help you.  Asking for help is difficult for some, especially when we are certain no one will understand the current circumstances in our lives.  Shame and guilt can paralyze us into NOT becoming what we are intended to be.  If you are one of those that need help, please reach out.  We at Recovery Through Rediscovery are here with our arms outstretched to you.  Addiction is just a symptom of something going on in yourdayblog7 life.  I know you are tired…  I have had those days too, as have many others.  You know the only difference between you and them?  They held out their hand and asked for help.  No matter how you view yourself now, you are loved and you do have a purpose.  Please call us at 931-364-2570 and let us help you on your journey to a grateful, humbled and purposeful life!
Blessings!

Leave a comment